Kenya's No 1 GhettoRadio

The 2016 Edition of Ndalat Gaa Cross-Country to be held in honor of Isaiah Kiplagat


safThe 2016 Edition of the Ndalat Gaa Cross-Country takes on special significance as it will be raced in honour of it’s founder,the late Athletics Kenya (AK)President Isaiah Kiplagat who succumbed to cancer in August 24,officials announced on Wednesday.

The Organizers also mentioned that from next year, the race will be renamed to the Isaiah Kiplagat Road Race.

Slated for October 15 Olympic steeplechase champion Conseslus Kipruto will be among this year’s field of elite runners taking part in the 7th Edition of the Ndalat Gaa Cross country marathon race.

Kipruto first took part in the marathon when he was still in school in 2010 where he finished fourth and will be taking part in this year’s edition as a role model for the upcoming talents.

The 21 year old was named the ambassador of Ndalat Gaa Cross-Country marathon.He hopes to finish this season in style in the event that will be held at Ndalat Gaa Girls High School in Nandi County.

The Organizing Secretary Kennedy Tanui said thatv they were keen on carrying Isaiah Kiplagat’s legacy from generation to generation.

“This event has grown significantly over the last seven years. We appreciate the support of our sponsors, partners and athletes who have taken part in the race, which is quickly becoming one of the most anticipated athletics events in Nandi County,” Tanui added.

“We are committed to carrying on the legacy of our race founder by ensuring that the effort he put into making this event a success continues to have impact for many years to come,” he added.

Asbel Kiprop, Priscah Jeptoo, Faith Chepng’etich, Caroline Chepkoech, Agnes Tirop as well as two-time Worlds silver medallist who won the Olympics title in August, Kipruto  are among the elite runners who have participated in previous editions of Ndalat Gaa.

Ndalat Gaa Cross-Country marathon is known to attract a large of participants,with over 5000 athletes as well as 30000 spectators expected to take in this year’s event.

There will be no advance registration for the event.