Kenya's No 1 GhettoRadio

Aden Duale Axed as Majority Leader in the National Assembly


Aden Duale has been axed as the National assembly majority leader and replaced by Kipipiri Member of Parliament Amos Kimunya.

This follows a decision made by the party’s Parliamentary Group Meeting (PGM) chaired by President Uhuru Kenyatta on Monday.

The latest comes just days after 126 out 179 Jubilee MPs signed a petition, supporting Duale’s ouster.

In the new changes, Muturi Kigano will now chair the Justice, Legal Affairs and Human Rights Committee while Kanini Kega will Chair Budget Committee. Adan Keynan will now be the Coalition Secretary.

The meeting comes amid widening rift between Uhuru and his deputy William Ruto.

The PG meeting also resolved to effect further changes at the House committees as part of the ongoing purge to kick out all MPs who were against the president’s agenda.

The Speaker of the National Assembly Justin Muturi on Wednesday in a communication to the house, confirmed the removal of Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichung’wa from the Budget Committee that he was chairing.

Also ousted was Gladys Shollei from the Delegated Legislation Committee.

Victor Munyaka will no longer chair the Sports Committee, while William Cheptumo has been de-whipped from the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee that he chaired.