Kenya's No 1 GhettoRadio

AFC Club Elections Risk Being Pushed to a Later date


AFCSportpesa giants AFC Leopards Electoral board risks calling off club’s elections slated for 24th July,at the Kasarani Gymnasium  following a 5.5million budget deficit.

According to the club’s Electoral Board Chairman Elias Masika, the IEBC requires a total of 8million shillings to conduct a successful election.

Masika says the Board needs to raise the arrears within the next 24 hours failure to which the elections will not push through.

Masika was speaking at the unveiling of the 27 aspirants running for various seats in the club and were cleared after a vetting exercise that was conducted a week ago.

Three aspirants, Asike Joshua Ananda who was vying for the Deputy Chairman seat, Obango J Obango and Stanlous Otieno both who were vying for the Executive Committee Membership seats have been disqualified from participating in the electoral process in what Masika termed as “lack of proper documentation”.

Masika, quoting the Chapter six of the constitution says that among the electoral requirements are the Certificate of Good Conduct, Certificate of Tax Compliance, and Certificate from the Clearance Reference Bureau (CRB) as well as Certificate from the Higher Education Loans Board.

“We met the branch officials a week ago where we did a verification of the members and the three failed to meet the basic requirements”.

Among those cleared by the Electoral body include Amahwa Maurice Milimu, Asembo Robert Akumu, Mule Athony Daniel as well as Opwora Mathews Wamukowa all battling for the Chairman seat.

Those going for the Deputy Chairman position include Ngacha Lawrence Githinji,Shitsama Ikatukhu Felix.

Igaida Oscar Mafunga,Simiyu Douglas Alusiola,Namai Ronald Mukoya all vying for Secretary General seat.

Angulu Suleiman Etenyi,Stazo Elijah Omung’ala Ang’ila will be fighting for the Deputy Secretary General position.

Those vying for the Executive committee membership include Dorothy Patricia Itago Kitazi, Herani Mukabi Irene,Lichungu Chiselemi Peter, Shida Abwao Saul,Sikuku Oliver Sammy Khajonga,Situma Robert Khamala and Wyliffe Nyamu Nyam Nyam.

Agoya Noah Wanyama, Selebwa Gilbert Mavisi and Lilumbi Timothy Muteshi are vying for the Organizing Secretary seat.

Haret Feisal Hussein,Imbenzi Oliver Napali,James Muyesu Kavehi,Karani Mukabi Irene, will be going for the Treasurer seat.

Makabila Justus Mise,Victor Okiya Dindi running for the Deputy Treasurer seats.

Meanwhile, Masika announced that Kisumu Branch Chairman and the Secretary have been barred from participating in the Club elections.The two are accused of allegedly issuing an additional 30 falsified names out of the 60 that were presented, prompting disqualification by the Electoral Board.

“We dealt with the fraudulent list and we came to a decision that the two will not participate in the elections”

“We came across other instances of double registration,other individuals also failed to present their National ID’s.”

“Some list of branches were missing from the list of the 4900 members which was presented to us by the IMC.”