Pep Guardiola was named the League Managers Association (LMA) and Premier League Manager of the Year on Tuesday after guiding Manchester City to the Premier League title.

Guardiola led City to their fifth league crown in six seasons and the club are set to face Manchester United in the FA Cup final on Saturday and Inter Milan in the Champions League final a week later.

“I am at an incredible football club and without all of the support that I have had throughout my time here, this would not have been possible,” Guardiola said in a club statement.

Guardiola saw off competition from Arsenal’s Mikel Arteta, Brighton & Hove Albion’s Roberto De Zerbi, Newcastle United’s Eddie Howe, Burnley’s Vincent Kompany and Plymouth Argyle’s Steven Schumacher to win the LMA award.

Guardiola became only the third manager to win three or more LMA manager of the year awards, matching David Moyes’ tally, but still two behind Sir Alex Ferguson.

City face Manchester United in Saturday’s FA Cup final. Victory in that match would set up a chance to win the Treble when they face Inter Milan in the Champions League final on 10 June.

Lou Macari won the inaugural John Duncan Award, which recognises outstanding achievement.

The 73-year-old former Scotland, Celtic and Manchester United midfielder has been running a homeless shelter in Stoke, where he had two stints as manager.

Arsenal’s Mikel Arteta, Brighton’s Roberto de Zerbi, Newcastle’s Eddie Howe, Burnley’s Vincent Kompany and Plymouth’s Steven Schumacher were also on the manager of the year shortlist.

Kompany and Schumacher won the Championship and League One manager of the year awards respectively, after their clubs each amassed 101 points on their way to the title.

Leyton Orient manager Richie Wellens claimed the League Two award after also clinching the title.

The Women’s Championship award was won by Lauren Smith, who won the league with Bristol City.

Written by:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • GhettoRadio 89.5FM
  • Radio