In Summary

  • Ghetto Radio’s Curtis Wa Kijee will be leading the awards search at the ‘Unkut Hip Hop Awards’ 2023 for ‘Radio Show of The Year’ category.
  • The award ceremony will be part of the 50th Hip Hop Anniversary.
  • Some of the categories are Song of the year, DJ of the year, Video of the year and Best Alternative Artist among others.

Ghetto Radio’s Curtis Wa Kijee who hosts Hip Hop Republik will be leading the awards hunt at the ‘Unkut Hip Hop Awards’ 2023 for ‘Radio Show of The Year’ category. The award ceremony will be part of the 50th Hip Hop Anniversary celebrations.

The celebrated presenter will be up against local and regional presenters for the coveted award slated on the 13th of December at the Expressway Lounge along Mombasa Road.

Fondly referred to as Kutizzo Matatizo, the burly media personality has appealed to his fans to vote in droves in order to bring the award home.

This is the third time Curtis is being nominated in the prestigious Unkut Hip Hop Awards.

READ Also:Jamaica To Host Nicki Minaj “Pink Friday 2” Album

Other nominees include The Cypher with Slick – Capital FM, Mseto Hip Hop Tuesday with Willy Tuva – Radio Citizen, Dakika Kumi Za Maangamizi with Lesa Sidi & Rich Msafi – East Africa Radio (Tanzania) and Kiss Most Wanted with Abasi Mkasi & DJ Crush (Tanzania).

This years theme is “Culture Unbound” with the dress code strictly formal with a touch of gold.

Below is a list of the award nominees.

Song of The Year

  • Sikutambui – Wakadinali
  • Sikwebela – MC Yala & Debmaster
  • Starshine – Buruklyn Boyz
  • Sitaki – Femi One ft. Domani

Video of The Year

  • Trio Mio – Prembeshwa (by Ivan Odie for LWKY)
  • Wakuu Music ft Khaligraph – Iivane (by Ondivovow Photography)
  • Ken Koast & Kaa La Moto – Kisumu (by Marvin Brudas for Brudhasblockbuster)
  • Wangechi ft Buruklyn Boyz – Mzigo (by Mike Lolly P)
  • Breeder Lw – Big Fat Cheque (by Antyvirus AV)
  • Suspect – Femi One ft Katapilla (by Jijo Drumbeats)
  • My Guy! Bigtril ft Fik Fameica ( Uganda)

Best Rap Group/Duo

  • Riett Kamati
  • Afrocentric
  • Wakuu Music
  • Wakadinali
  • Mabantu (Tanzania)

Best East African Artist of The Year

  • Rosa Ree
  • Khaligraph Jones
  • Navio
  • Young Lunya
  • Kaa La Moto
  • Fid Q
  • Femi One

Gengetone Artist of The Year

  • Maandy
  • YBW Smith
  • Fathermoh
  • Trio Mio
  • Ssaru

For a more detailed list of the nominees and the voting process follow@unkuthiphopawards.

Curtis nomination ‘Best Radio Show’ – Hip Hop Republik PHOTO Courtesy


Lifetime Achievement Award

The award ceremony also has a special category ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ which will be handed to legendary hip hop group, Kalamashaka.

READ Also:Trey Jayson Beats Artists To Win “Kayole’s Finest”

The Dandora based group is credited with not only pioneering Kenya’s hip hop but also inspiring the new crop of hip hop stars.

This is the 4th edition of the ‘Unkut Hip Hop Awards’ and the event’s brainchild Ruby V has promised a show of its kind.






Written by:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • GhettoRadio 89.5FM
  • Radio