Kenya's No 1 GhettoRadio

Erick Ouma ‘Marcelo’ Named in Stars’ Squad to face Uganda and Congo

0 586
Harambee Stars head coach Stanley

Harambee Stars  head Coach Stanley Okumbi has called up 11 foreign based players to link up with the team ahead of friendlies against Uganda and DRC Congo Scheduled for March 23 and 26, 2017 respectively, at the Kenyatta Stadium in Machakos.

Among those named include a former Gor Mahia young star Erick Ouma popularly known as Marcelo by the local fans. The swift left back had fine days at K’galo despite his young age and his coveted talent saw him go abroad in search of greener pastures having played with the KPL’s giants for a season.

The core reason of the two friendlies aligned are meant to prepare the national football team for Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON 2019) qualifiers as well as African Nations Championships (CHAN).Okumbi earlier on released a call up list of local based players in wait of foreign leagues to go for recess before calling up foreign based players.

The tactician yesterday has called up Abud Omar (Slava Sofia, Bulgaria), Anthony Akumu (Zesco, Zambia), David Ochieng (New York Cosmos, USA), Erick Ouma (FC Kolkheti, Georgia), Jesse Were (Zesco, Zambia) and  Johanna Omollo (Royal Antwerp, Belgium)

Others are Ayub Timbe (Beijing Renhe, China), David Owino (Zesco, Zambia), Michael Olunga (Guizhou Zhicheng, China), Brian Mandela (Maritzburg, South Africa) and Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs, England).

They are expected to join their local counterparts in a camp pitched at Machakos.The following is the full list of players called up by Okumbi to represent the country in the two friendly ties scheduled for Thursday and Sunday respectively:


David Okello (Tusker), Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers)


David Mwangi (Mathare United), Eugene Asike (Tusker), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Maurice Ojwang (Western Stima), Musa Mohammed (Gor Mahia), Robinson Kamura (AFC Leopards), Sammy Meja (Thika United), Simon Mbugua (Posta Rangers), Abud Omar (Slava Sofia, Bulgaria), David Ochieng (New York Cosmos, USA), Erick Ouma (FC Kolkheti, Georgia), David Owino (Zesco, Zambia), Brian Mandela (Maritzburg, South Africa)


Amos Asembeka (Sony Sugar), Benard Mang’oli (AFC Leopards), Erick  Johanna (Un-attached), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia), Humphrey Mieno (Tusker FC), Joseph Kuria (Posta Rangers), Kenneth  Muguna (Gor Mahia), Noah Wafula (Tusker FC), Ochieng  Ovella (Kariobangi Sharks), Osborne Monday (Kariobangi Sharks), Samuel Onyango (Ulinzi Stars), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards), Anthony Akumu (Zesco, Zambia), Johanna Omollo (Royal Antwerp, Belgium), Ayub Timbe (Beijing Renhe, China), Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs, England).


Jeremiah Wanjala (Kakamega Homeboyz), Mark Makwatta (Ulinzi Stars) and Vincent Oburu, Jesse Were (Zesco, Zambia), Michael Olunga (Guizhou Zhicheng, China)


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More