Kenya's No 1 GhettoRadio

FKF elections: team change sweep all seats in Nairobi


changeeTeam change allied to FKF presidential aspirant Nick Mwendwa has scooped all the seats in the Nairobi East and West FKF Branch elections held Tuesday 26th 2016.

The incumbent Nairobi East chairperson Michael Ouma has successfully retained his seat after beating the lone opponent Tino Chiseka by garnering 24 votes against two. The vice-chair position went to Onyango while Dickson Doyo went away with the secretary’s position. Griffin is the new assistant secretary; treasurer post went to Michael Ngatia while Moses Nyakira won the assistant treasurer’s position.

Jackline Okoti was elected unopposed as Nairobi East FKF women representative.

In Nairiobi West Bashir Hussein won the elections defeating other hopeful candidate’s including Athanus Obango Samuel Kihara and Mathews Opwora.

Speaking minutes later after the results were released Nairobi East new chair Michael Ouma thanked his supporters for tirelessly backing him in the campaign that saw him defend his seat and remain at the helm of the branch area for another term of four years.

‘’ I want to thank everyone who has walked with me in the journey to clinching this seat especially the Team Change that we aspire to bring a new face of football in Kenya.

Further I believe we are on our way to winning big in other branches, infact am confident we shall win more than 18 branches countrywide out of the possible 20’’.

Ouma further expressed his hope that his team that is behind Nick Mendwa’s candidature, will emerge victorious in the national FKF elections that will be held on 10th February in Kasarani Nairobi.

‘’Am confident beyond any doubt that our candidate Nick Mwendwa will triumph in the same way we have done here, we want to change the way football is run in Kenya and am convinced we offer the right menu for Kenyan football, we have the right answers for what is ailing Kenyan football’’.

The Nairobi East elections that were held at Stima Plaza saw the injection of new blood into the football management with only three coming from the old folk. Supporters of Ouma blast into ululations and jeers as they celebrated his victory together with his fellow candidates.

Other elected leaders vowed to continue rallying behind their leader Nick Mwendwa and serving the football fraternity with diligence.

Same elections are being held countrywide in other 20 branches. These branches have 40 votes at the national elections with the others filled in by the 16 Kenyan Premier League (KPL) clubs and the rest taken by FKF Premier League clubs, national super league and division one teams.

A total of 78 delegates will take part in the national elections set for February 10 at Kasarani.

The Institute for Education in Democracy [IED] is conducting the elections on behalf of the FKF Electoral Board and the latter has assured that the polls will be free and fair despite the delays that have been experienced.

Additionally Peace and sobriety has been noted in various polling centers across the various Football Kenya Federation branches where polling is proceeding with some already having concluded the exercise.