Kenya's No 1 GhettoRadio

FKF Electoral Board publishes final list of eligible clubs


The FKF Electoral Board has published the final list of clubs eligible to vote at the county and national level in the upcoming repeat FKF elections.

The list can be accessed from the Board’s website via

This follows the culmination of disputes window that resolved disputes to the Electoral Board on the preliminary register, published on February 6, 2020.

As stipulated in the 2019/2020 FKF Electoral Code, the list consists of 1,014 clubs that have actively participated in the FKF leagues in at least three of the last four consecutive seasons i.e. 2016, 2017, 2018, 2018/2019, and are currently active.

The voter register consists of clubs that will vote at the National and County Level. At the National level, 17 of 18 Kenya Premier League (KPL) clubs (Sony Sugar was relegated), 10 National Super league (NSL) clubs and 10 National Division one drawn from the two zones in order of the top five per zone. Equally, women’s football will be represented by a total of 5 clubs from the Women’s Premier League (3 clubs), and the Women’s Division One League (2).

At the county level, all the remaining NSL and Division one clubs not included in the National election have been published. Additionally, Clubs participating in the Regional Leagues and County Leagues will be eligible to vote in their respective counties.

Speaking on the current process, the board’s chairperson, Kentice Tikolo, said: “The board took an early decision to embark on a voter eligibility process to ensure that some of the past issues that bedevil the elections are resolved at the outset of the process. This will ensure both delegates and candidates are appraised of their eligibility.”

In the meantime, the deadline for submission of County nomination forms is slated for February 18th 2020 according to the electoral calendar issued by the board earlier this month.

The Board has so far received candidates’ nomination papers from counties.

A preliminary list of candidates is expected to be published on Friday, February 23, 2020, after which disputes related to the nomination process will be accepted by the Board.

National Executive Committee (NEC), as well as presidential aspirants, are expected to submit their nomination papers on Friday, February 21, and Saturday, February 22, 2020, as per the Electoral Calendar.

The final list of National and County candidates will be published on March 3, 2020.

County elections have been scheduled for March 14, 2020, while the national elections will be held on March 27, 2020.