Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.
Kenya’s Number One GhettoRadio

Hasten the Sports fund,FKF President urge Government

0 849

Football Kenya Federation President Nick Mwnendwa has urged the government to hasten implementation of the Sports act.

Speaking at the Kenya Premier League Awards Ceremony held in Nairobi on the 25th October 2018, Mwendwa said that the Sports fund will alleviate the suffering of the Federation because of lack of Funds.

According to the President despite lack of Funds in the two and a half years they have made a big step in helping develop the league in the Country.

The women’s team is set to represent the Country in the African Women’s Cup of Nations to be held in Ghana next month and the Federation has put up a budget of Ksh43 million to aid team.

Kenya are pooled in Group B alongside defending Champions Nigeria, South Africa and Zambia in the competition to be held at the Cape Coast Stadium.

Hosts Ghana are in group A alongside Algeria, Mali and Cameroon with their group stage matches to be played at the Accra Sports Stadium.

The final match of the competition will be played on Saturday 1 December at the Accra Sports Stadium.

Meanwhile Kariobangi Sharks striker Erick Kapaito won the 2018 Kenyan Premier League (KPL) Most Valuable Player of the Year (MVP).

The forward walked away with the New Player of the Year award as well to cap off a stunning debut campaign in which he finished as the league’s top scorer with 16 goals.

Champions Gor Mahia are the Fair Play Club of the Year with head coach Dylan Kerr walking away with the Coach of the Year gong for leading K’Ogallo to an unprecedented 18th league crown.

2017 MVP, Mike Madoya retained the Fair Play Player Award.

Below is the full list of winners ,

Most Valuable Player of the Year (MVP)

  1. Erick Kapaito – Kariobangi Sharks

Most Improved Assistant Referee of the Year

  1. Gilbert Cheruiyot
  2. Maryanne Njoroge
  3. Oliver Odhiambo

Most Improved Centre Referee of the Year

  1. Davis Omweno
  2. Onyango Raymond
  3. Badir Yassin

- Advertisement -

Team Manager of the Year

  1. Vincent Okello – Mathare United
  2. Christopher Ouma – Ulinzi Stars
  3. Lazarus Yogo – Zoo FC

Fair Play Club of the Year

  1. Gor Mahia
  2. Sofapaka
  3. Kariobangi Sharks

Fair Play Player of the Year

  1. Michael Madoya – Zoo FC
  2. Erick Kapaito – Kariobangi Sharks
  3. Felly Mulumba – Bandari

New Player of the Year

  1. Erick Kapaito – Kariobangi Sharks
  2. Marvin Nabwire – AFC Leopards
  3. Pistone Mutamba – Sofapaka

Midfielder of the Year

  1. Cliff Nyakeya – Mathare United
  2. Elvis Nandwa – Ulinzi Stars
  3. Mike Madoya – Zoo FC

Defender of the Year

  1. Felly Mulumba – Bandari
  2. Titus Achesa – Posta Rangers
  3. Oliver Ruto – Ulinzi Stars

Golden Glove Award

  1. Farouk Shikhalo – Bandari
  2. Patrick Matasi – Tusker/Posta Rangers
  3. Kevin Omondi – Sony Sugar

Top Scorer

  1. Erick Kapaito – Kariobangi Sharks
  2. Elvis Rupia – Nzoia Sugar
  3. Jacques Tuyisenge – Gor Mahia

Coach of the Year

  1. Dylan Kerr – Gor Mahia
  2. Dunstan Nyaudo – Ulinzi Stars
  3. John Baraza – Sofapaka