Kenya's No 1 GhettoRadio

Hope for Stars not in Migne’s squad

0 932

Harambee Stars Coach Sebastien Migne has said that the door is not closed in the selection of the team to represent the Country in the African Cup of Nations to be held in Egypt.

Speaking at the MISC Kasarani while preparing the national team for the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations, the French man said that he is pragmatic meaning the selection is not yet over saying that he is assessing the players before coming up with the final 26 to travel in France.

Musa Mohammed, Cliffton Miheso, Dennis Odhiambo and Masud Juma are among players in the AFCON provisional squad who took part in the session.

“It is the beginning of trying to build and get answers from the players that have assembled and if a players shows he is good enough I will include him in the final squad of 26,” he said.

The omission of striker Jesse Were from the squad caused uproar from fans and football stake holders.

Were despite performing and scoring goals for his team in the Zambian League and Caf matches was not included in the 30 man preliminary squad.

According to the Coach the former Tusker and Matharee United has not scored for the team despite playing 26 matches.

The Africa Nations Championships Qualifier against Burundi, in the meantime, is set to be played in August 2019.

The winner of the tie on aggregate will face off with either of Tanzania or Sudan in the second and final qualifying round of the tournament, set to be held in Ethiopia in January 2020.

Kenya will be looking to make a maiden appearance at the 16-team tourney reserved exclusively for players actively featuring in their respective national championships.

Stars are scheduled to jet out to Paris, on May 31, 2019, and have already been booked at the French Rugby Federation, Marcoussis Cedex where they will hold a 19-day residential camp before flying out to Cairo Egypt, on June 19, 2019, in time for the continental showpiece.

Here is a list of players of who took part in Monday’s session


John Oyemba, Brian Bwire


David Ochieng, Charles Momanyi, Eric Juma, Musa Mohammed, Mike Kibwage


Dennis Odhiambo, Joe Waithira, Teddy Osok, Duke Abuya, Cliffton Miheso, Ibrahim Shambi, Paul Were


John Avire, Enosh Ochieng, Pistone Mutamba, Masud Juma



This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More