In Summary
  • Egypt have won the most AFCON Titles (seven),
  • Cote d’ Ivoire are hosting the Africa Cup of Nations for a second time
  • Cameroonian Samuel Eto’o is the leading overall Cup of Nations scorer

The Confederation of African Football’s (CAF’s) highly anticipated African Cup of Nations (AFCON) 2023 is set to kick off on January 13 in the Ivory Coast.

Below are some some interesting records and statistics of the tournament.

READ Also:Shabana Fc Names New Head Coach

First AFCON Tournament

CAF President, Dr Patrice Motsepe (Photo Courtesy)


The first AFCON tournament took place in Sudan in 1957.

Only three countries, hosts Sudan, Egypt and Ethiopia, took part in the first tournament in February 1957 and there was no qualifying competition.

South Africa were also invited to the first Africa Cup of Nations tournament in 1957 but their invitation was later withdrawn as a result of the countries apartheid laws.

Egypt defeated hosts Sudan in the first game played at the AFCON winning 2-1 on 10th January 1957.

Raafat Attia scored the first goal at an AFCON tournament when he opened the scoring for Egypt in their 2-1 Semi-final win over hosts Sudan in 1957.

Egypt defeated Ethiopia 4-0 in the final to win the first AFCON Tournament in 1957.

Egypt won the first two AFCON Tournaments in 1957 and 1959 while they were runners up in 1962, losing to hosts Ethiopia in the final.

READ Also:Tanzania’s Twiga Stars Qualify For WAFCON 2024

Cote d’ Ivoire Hosts Afcon

Cote d’ Ivoire are hosting the Africa Cup of Nations for a second time, they hosted the tournament for the first time in 1984.

When the Cote d’Ivoire hosted the AFCON in 1984 eight nations participated five of those countries will be joining the hosts again they are Algeria, Cameroon, Egypt, Ghana and Nigeria. Missing out are Malawi and Togo.

Egypt have won the most AFCON Titles (seven), followed by Cameroon (five), Ghana (four), Nigeria (three) and the Democratic Republic of Congo and the Ivory Coast (two each).

Egypt and Ghana have both reached 9 AFCON Finals while Egypt have won seven, Ghana have four wins while Cameroon have played in seven finals winning five.

Cote d’Ivoire have appeared in four AFCON Finals in 1992, 2006, 2012 and 2015 and in 480 minutes of play in AFCON finals have failed to produce a single goal they won on penalties after extra time in 1992 and 2015 and lost on penalties after extra time in 2006, 2012 with all four games ending 0-0.

Afcon Top Scorer

Cameroonian Samuel Eto’o is the leading overall Cup of Nations scorer, notching 18 goals in six tournaments between 2000 and 2010.

Egypt goalkeeper Essam el Hadary became the oldest player at 44 years and 21 days to feature in the tournament when he faced Cameroon in the 2017 final in Libreville as Egypt lost.

Only once in 2013 when South Africa played out a 0-0 draw against Cape Verde has the opening game of the Africa Cup of Nations ended 0-0.

The last host nation to reach the AFCON Finals was Egypt who won the title on home soil in 2006.

Egypt have reached the AFCON Final in five of the last six tournaments that they have participated in winning in 2006, 2008 and 2010 while they were runners up in 2017 and the 2021 edition. They only failed to do so in 2019 as hosts.

Four players Cameroon’s Samuel Eto’o, Ghanaian duo Asamoah Gyan as well as Andre Ayew and Zambia’s Kalusha Bwalya have scored in 6 AFCON Tournaments no players have scored in more editions of the competition than them.

Written by:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • GhettoRadio 89.5FM
  • Radio