Kenya's No 1 GhettoRadio
Kenya’s Number One GhettoRadio

MPs Who Have Never Spoken In Parliament

Emgwen MP Alex Kosgey Chatting with DP Ruto at a past Event (Photo Courtesy Nation)
Emgwen MP Alex Kosgey Chatting with DP Ruto at a past Event (Photo Courtesy Nation)

Twenty seven MPs never contributed to debate in Parliament at all last year.

An online forum that tracks Parliament’s performance indicated that the legislators failed to contribute to plenary discussions in the National Assembly.
The forum, Mzalendo Trust, added five of the MPs have never even given a maiden speech since their election in March 2013.
In the National Assembly for instance, Nairobi County with 17 MPs leads with the highest number of silent legislators. They include Isaac Ndirangu (Roysambu), Joash Olum (Lang’ata) and John Omondi (Embakasi East). “Five of the 27 MPs have actually never given their maiden speech in the House since they were elected in March 2013. They include: Alex Kosgey (Emgwen), Oscar Sudi (Kapseret), Gonzi Rai (Kinango) and Tirus Ngahu (Kangema),” the report reads.
The findings also reveal a continued trend that a third of MPs hardly contribute anything of substance to debate. “This is a dismal report given participation to debate is one of the key metrics in ensuring an MP fulfills his overall responsibility of representation, budgeting, oversight and legislation,” said Mzalendo Trust Executive Director Jessica Musila.

- Advertisement -

According to the forum, senators Mutula Kilonzo Jr (Makueni) and Fatuma Dullo (Nominated), National Assembly Deputy Majority Leader Naomi Shaban (Taveta) and Deputy Minority Leader Chris Wamalwa (Kiminini) were the most active contributors to debate in both Houses.
Others were John Mbadi (Suba), Minority Deputy Leader Jakoyo Midiwo (Gem), Millie Odhiambo (Mbita) and Priscilla Nyokabi (Nyeri) in the National Assembly and senators Wilfred Machage (Migori), Henry ole Ndiema (Trans Nzoia), Zipporah Kittony (Nominated) and Beatrice Elachi (Nominated) in the Senate.
In the analysis, which ranked the parliamentarians according to their counties, Siaya, Kakamega and Homabay led the pack while Lamu,
Tana River and Kwale performed the worst. The most active chairpersons were former Public Accounts and Investment Committee Chair, Senator Boni Khalwale (Kakamega), and the National Assembly Legal Affairs’s chair, Samuel Chepkonga (Ainabkoi).