Kenya's No 1 GhettoRadio

Muguna Bags KPL Player of The Year Award

0 453
(Kenneth Muguna Western Stima) at the KPL Award

Western Stima midfielder Kenneth Muguna bagged player of the year midfielder of the year as well as the new player of the year awards as Kenya Premier League awarded best players of the 2016 season on Tuesday December 13 at Safari Park Hotel Nairobi.

The youthful sensation ended Michael Olunga’s (Gor Mahia) year old hold of the trophy beating the strong opposition of Whyvonne Isuza (Mathare United) and Humphrey Mieno (Tusker).

Muguna who also won player of the month for August became the first player to win the title in his first season in the top flight.

He walked away with Ksh. 1.6million and two Tv screens courtesy of LG.

Muguna emerged second in the new young player of the year category behind upcoming talent David ‘Marcelo’ Ouma of Gor Mahia and Cavin Odongo of Posta Ranger.

Ulinzi Stars striker John Makwatta received the golden boot trophy beating Kepha Aswani (AFC Leopards) and Wycliffe Ochomo of Muhoroni Youth who appeared second and third respectively.

Tactician Paul Nkata who led the brewers to the KPL league and the GOTv shield titles carried the coach of the year award. Nkata faced competition from Marcelo Ferreira (Gor Mahia), Henry Omino (Western Stima), Francis Baraza (Chemelil Sugar) and Zedekiah Otieno (Posta Ranger).

Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers) led the defender of the year category as Musa Mohammed of Gor Mahia and Noah Abich of Sofapaka became second and third respectively.

The Golden glove went to Patrick Matasi of Posta Rangers while Boniface Oluoch of Gor Mahia and David of Tusker took trophies for being second and third in the category.

Most Valuable Player

Kenneth Muguna (Western Stima)

John Makwata (Ulinzi Stars)

David Okelo (Tusker)

Golden Glove

Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers)

Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia)

David Okelo (Tusker)

Defender of the year

Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers)

Musa Mohamed (Gor Mahia)

Noah Abich (Sofapaka)

Midfielder of the year

Kenneth Muguna Western Stima

Whyvonne Isuza Mathare United

Humphrey Mieno Tusker

Fairplay Player

Ali Bai (Kakamega Homeboyz)

Jared Obwoge (Chemelil)

Amos Asembeka (Sony Sugar)

New Player of the year

Eric Ouma (Gor Mahia)

Kenneth Muguna (Western Stima)

Cavin Odongo (Posta Rangers)

Coach of the year

Paul Nkata (Tusker)

Marcelo Ferreira (Gor Mahia)

Francis Baraza (Chemelil Sugar)

Golden Boot

John Makwata (Ulinzi Stars)

Kepha Aswani (AFC Leopards)

Wycliffe Ochomo (Muhoroni Youth)

Team manager of the year

George Opndo (Tusker)

David Mwangi (Ulinzi Stars)

Pascal Ochieng (Posta Rangers)

Fairplay Team

Kakamega Homeboyz

Mathare United

Western Stima

Assistant Referee of the year

Gilbert Cheruiyot

Stephen Oduor

Mary Ann Njoroge

Referee of the year

Anthony Ogwayo

Davies Omweno

Badr Yassin



This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More