In Summary

  • Pomp and glamour at Marwa Awards.
  • Mama Ida Odinga was the chief guest.
  • This is the second edition of ‘Marwa Awards’ which seeks to reward exceptional talents in the Luo realm.

It was pomp and glamour last night at the second edition of ‘Marwa Awards’ held at the Tsavo ballroom in KICC, Nairobi to reward exceptional talents in the Luo realm with Mama Ida Odinga as the chief guest.

Known for their grandeur, Luo’s didn’t disappoint as they arrived in sleek machines while dressed to kill. One would have mistaken the night for a beauty contest.

READ Also:Willis Raburu To Pocket 6.5M From Airtel Over ‘Bazu’ Trademark

Also present were industry players, politicians and artistes both established and trailblazers in the game. These included MCSK Boss, Ezekiel Mutua, Lawyer, Willis Otieno, Gor Semelang’o and musicians turned media personalities, Gidigidi and Majimaji, among others.

Comedian Oga Obinna was the event host assisted by Tumbili in keeping the crowd energized through their witty punchlines.

The highlight of the night saw Ohangla and Benga maestro Musa Jakadala beat a host of competitors including Prince Indah for the ‘male artist of the year award’.

Vioxii Dede alongside models with the ‘Collabo Of The Year’ Award PHOTO GHETTO RADIO Digital


List Of Winners

The night had several winners receiving their awards while others like Osito Kalle(Lifetime Achievement Award), Atommy Sifa(Rhumba/Benga artist of the year) and Pilot Nyako(Comic Content Creator Of The Year) won in absentia with their representatives receiving their awards on their behalf.

Below is a list of the winners.

  • Gospel song of the year-Joyce Onyango(Apako Lwanda)
  • New artist of the year- Awiko Hundhwe
  • Most Promising artist of the year- Papa T
  • Luo rap artist of the year- Gabiro Mtu Necessary
  • Contemporary artist of the year- Apesi Mnyama Mkali
  • Online supportive media o the year- Luo Trending Nation
  • Chairman of artist managers of the year- Richard Obong’o
  • Supportive radio presenter of the year- Felix Wuod Nyaboro(Mayienga FM) two years in a row.
  • Supportive MC of the year- MC Amata(Min Jacky)
  • Supportive DJ of the year- DJ Vick(Citizen Tv)
  • Comic content creator of the year- Nyako Pilot
  • Audio producer of the year- Utawala Studios, Jeff Wuod Nyatanga.
  • Video director of the year- Jamal Malique(MGF Studios)
  • Song of the year- Bebina(Kaka Talanta)
  • Video of the year- Mambo Bado(Musa Jakadala)
  • Song writer of the year- Tonny Ndiema
  • Collabo of the year- Vioxii Dede ft Japesa(Bolo Ga Ni Pangla)
  • Rhumba Benga artist of the year- Atommy Sifa
  • Honorary Award Outsranding/Diverse artist of the year- Prince Indah
  • Supportive Events manager of the year- Mike Rabar(Homeboyz Radio)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award- Dr. Osito Kalle
  • Best female artist of the year- Lilian Jairo
  • Male artist of the year- Musa Jakadala

The chief guest Mama Ida Odinga noted the growth of the Luo creative industry with MCSK boss, Ezekiel Mutua seconding while pledging his support.

READ Also:Alikiba’s Poor Public Speaking Skills Exposed

Ezekiel Mutua was further reminded by nearly every artist who spoke the likes of Mr. Seed, Emma Jalamo and Wuod Fibi to mind the welfare of artists through the distribution of royalties.

Written by:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • GhettoRadio 89.5FM
  • Radio