Kenya's No 1 GhettoRadio
Kenya’s Number One GhettoRadio

Stars’ final Squad depart for Gunea Bissau


Harambee-Stars-celebrate-Kenya National team Harambee Stars have left the country for Guinea Bissau for the upcoming 2017 Africa Cup of Nations on a chartered flight and depart for Nairobi immediately after the game to prepare for the second leg in Nairobi.

Preparations were finalized last week with the help of the Sports Ministry for the team to fly on a chartered flight.

Meanwhile ,Coach Okumbi named his final squad that is travelling to Guinea Bissau for the first leg of 2017 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) Group E qualifier slated for Wednesday 23 March.

The surprise inclusions in the team include Kariobangi Sharks youngsters Ovella Ochieng and Patilla Omotto while Gor Mahia trio of Harun Shakava,Collins Okoth and Francis Kahata were axed from the travelling team which departs this morning (Monday) for Guinea Bissau via a chartered flight.

Belgium based Ayub Timbe and Greece based Paul Were did not travel for the game because of logistical issues but Were would be available for the second leg.

Skipper Victor Wanyama with other foreign journalists will join the rest of the squad in Guinea Bissau ahead of the game scheduled for Wednesday

- Advertisement -

Final squad

Goalkeepers: Arnold Origi (Lillestrom, Norway), Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia)

Defenders: Dennis Odhiambo (Thika United), Musa Mohammed (Gor Mahia), Omar Mbongi (Ulinzi Stars), David Owino (Zesco United), James Situma (Tusker FC), Brian Mandela (Maritzburg United)

Midfielders: Victor Wanyama (Southampton FC), Johannah Omollo (Antwerp), Patillah Omotto (Kariobangi Sharks), Johannah Erick (Mathare United), Clifton Miheso (AFC Leopards), Anthony Kimani, David Kingatua (Bandari FC), Anthony Akumu (Zesco United).

Strikers: Michael Olunga (IF Djugardens), Timothy Otieno (Posta Rangers), Jesse Were (Zesco United), Ovella Ochieng (Kariobangi Sharks)

Technical bench Members and others in the travelling party:
Stanley Okumbi – Head Coach
Musa Otieno – Asst Coach
Frank Ouna – Ast Coach
Wycliff Omom – Physio
Mikael Igendia – Sports Science consultant
Benson Otieno – kit Manager
Michael Kamure – Logistics
Razak Onar Siwa – Goal Keeper trainer
John Wanaina – Team Doctor
NICK mwendwa – Fkf Presideny
Murithi Nabea – Head of Delegation
Dan Muli Kawinzi – Logistics fkf
Ronny Oyando – Logistics fkf
Fred Arocho – Media
Dhidha Maro – Gov rep
William Were – Gov rep
Stafford Ondego – Media
Jeff Kinyanjui – Media