Kenya's No 1 GhettoRadio

Teams within Nairobi Eligible to participate in the 10th Edition of SPS8L


SUPER 8Teams within Nairobi county wishing to take part in the upcoming 10th edition of the SportPesa Super 8 Soccer Tournament have until Friday 10th June to comply with the rules of registration by the organizers.

This year’s edition which kicks-off in earnest on Saturday July 16 will serve as the entry point to the inaugural SportPesa Super 8 League where four outstanding teams will receive promotion to the SportPesa Super 8 Division One League-the second tier of the league. SportPesa Super 8 Premier League is the top tier.

Last year, Technical University of Kenya (TUK) were crowned champions of the 9th edition after outclassing Kiambiu Youth 4-2 in post-match spot kicks after coming from behind to hold the East siders 2-2 on regulation time at Nyayo Stadium.

Being among the most successful competition in Nairobi so far, only teams from within eight regions in the county are eligible to participate in the tournament and have been divided in to two regions where East conference teams will go head to head with West conference team.

The East conference region shall include teams from Embakasi, Makadara, Kasarani and Kamukunji while the West conference will have teams from Westlands, Starehe, Dagoretti and Lang’ata.

At the regional preliminary level, matches will be played on a home and away basis and in case of a tie; the away rule will apply or penalties will decide the winner.

The overall regional winners will then proceed to the knock-out stage dubbed Super 8 where the winners of the regions shall be pooled in their respective conferences from where two finalists in both conferences will receive promotion to the Division One League.

At the Super 8 quarter final level, two separate draws will be conducted for the four East and four West conferences teams where the two winners from the each conference proceed to the corresponding semis.

The winner of semi-final one (East) and winner of semi-final two (West) will face of in the finals for the winner and runners-up position.

For third place position, the losing semi-finalist will then square it out in the play-offs.

The overall champion will bag a cool Ksh. 100,000 while runners-up will take home Ksh 50,000 and third place will also walk away with Ksh 25,000.

However, teams playing in the Kenya Premier League, National Wide, Super League, Sportpesa Super 8 Premier League and Division 1 Leagues not eligible to take part in the competition which is expected to wrap-up in November.

#Sps8League #WakilishaMtaaYako