Kenya's No 1 GhettoRadio


0 960

The 2018 Africa Youth Championship has been officially opened today Sunday 12th August   by Kisumu County CEC for sports  and Tourism Achie Alai.

Addressing hundreds of participants who have been enlisted for the 7day tournament the executive urged the participants to strive for excellence as the sport gets underway.

“The game of chess has travelled the length and breadth of the globe and found devotees of every race, creed and nationality and therefore you should be very proud of yourself for carrying this wonderful tradition” said Achie.
The first round of chess action started this afternoon in all  the categories.

The Kenyan contingent boasts of a pool of talented 58 players who will battle it out for top honours with players drawn from other 12 countries .

Over 400 participants are expected to grace event that has been sponsored by Ministry of Sports, Culture and Heritage.

Chess Kenya president Bernard Wanjala has lauded the Cabinet Secretary for Sports, Culture and Heritage Hon. Rashid Echesa Mohamed   for supporting this year’s event.

“This is arguably a great tournament  in this continent  , We thank the Sports Ministry  for their profound support towards staging of this continental event”, said Wanjala.

The boys U18 category has strong competition from Egypt,Cameroon, Zambia,  Namibia, Somalia and Uganda

Egyptian International Master Kandil Adham who is the highest ranked player at 2290 will face stiff competition from Algerias Aaroun Saadi and Ugandan Matovu Abel.

Algerian  World Fide Master Nassr Rania headlines the ladies U18 category. Hot on her heels will be Uganda’s Nansubuga Gloria , South African Wolmarans Riekie and Kenya’s Dorcas Wanjala.

The U 16 boys has two Fide masters and one candidate master drawn from Algeria and South Africa. There will be stiff competition in the ladies U14 category in a field that is led by Egyptian WCM Amina Lila Mohammed, Kenya’s Muthoni Vivian and Angola’s Antonio Reneisa.

The tournament will be played for nine rounds ahead of the prize giving ceremony on Saturday 18th August 2018.




This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More