In Summary

  • UEFA European Championship is  back taking place in Germany.
  • The 1988 tournament was held in West Germany


The UEFA European Championship is  back taking place in Germany ,the three time winners.

Following a UEFA Executive Committee meeting in Nyon on September 27, 2018, Germany was selected to host the 17th edition of the UEFA European Championship, and will play host to EURO 2024.

The only other country to submit a proposal to host UEFA EURO 2024 was Turkey. The 1988 tournament was held in West Germany, but this would be the country’s first UEFA European Championship since reunification. The nation hosted the FIFA World Cup in 2006.

Twenty-four countries are competing for the title at the 2024 European Championship, which will take place in Germany from June 14–July 14.

The first Euros tournament was held in 1960 and over the 16 tournaments since there have been a number of huge shock results.


Qualified Teams

Group A: Germany, Scotland, Hungary, Switzerland

Group B: Spain, Croatia, Italy, Albania

Group C: Slovenia, Denmark, Serbia, England

Group D: Poland, Netherlands, Austria, France

Group E: Belgium, Slovakia, Romania, Ukraine

Group F: Türkiye, Georgia, Portugal, Czechia


Qualified via play-offs

The format will be the same as for UEFA EURO 2020. The top two in each of the six final tournament groups will proceed to the round of 16 along with the four best third-placed finishers

Here are 10 of the biggest, starting with the most recent.


1)2021: Switzerland 3-3 France (4-5 on penalties, last of 16)

2)2016:Wales 3-1 Belgium (quarter finals)

3)2016:England 1-2 Iceland(last 16)

4)2016:Ukraine 0-2 Northern Ireland(group stage)

5)2004: Portugal 0-1 Greece (final)

6)2004: Latvia 0-0 Germany (group stage)

7)1996: Czech Republic 2-1 Italy (group stage)

8)1992: Denmark 2-0 Germany (final)

9)1992: Sweden 2-1 England (group stage)

10)1988: England 0-1 Republic of Ireland (group stage)

What to Note

1.Germany will be the sole hosts of UEFA EURO 2024.

2.Cristiano Ronaldo is aiming for his sixth EURO final tournament.

3.Former winners have booked their place at the tournament: Czechia, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia and Spain.

4.Hosts Germany have appeared at more EURO final tournaments than any other nation – this will be their 14th. Along with Spain, they have won three EUROs each – more than any other nation.

5.This will be the 17th edition of the UEFA European Championship.

6.Each team must submit a squad of between 23 and 26 players at least seven full days before the opening match.

7.The tournament will span 31 days, starting with the opening game in Munich on 14 June and finishing with the final in Berlin on 14 July.

8.Gold medals are presented to the winning team and 40 silver medals to the runners-up.


Written by:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • GhettoRadio 89.5FM
  • Radio