Kenya's No 1 GhettoRadio

Uhuru locks down five counties


President Uhuru Kenyatta has banned movement into and out of Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, Kiambu and Nakuru Counties effective midnight.

Uhuru says that the decision to shut down follows the rising numbers of Covid-19 in the country.

The five counties reportedly account for 70 percent of the country’s total infections.

“Fully conscious that 70% of Kenya’s COVID-19 cases have been recorded in the counties of Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, Kiambu and Nakuru, these counties are individually and collectively declared a disease infected area. There shall be a cessation of all movement by road, rail or air into and out of the disease infected area comprising of the counties of Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, Kiambu and Nakuru effective midnight tonight until otherwise notified,” said the Head of State.

Uhuru has also adjusted curfew time in the five counties from 4am to 8pm.

Curfew time in other 42 counties still remain at 4 am to 8pm.

Uhuru has also banned bar operations and sale of alcohol in restaurants in the five counties until further notice.

“In light of the abuse of curfew passes and exemptions and its role in the steep increase in infections, The Ministry of Interior and Co-ordination of National Government jointly with the Ministry of Health are directed to immediately review the protocols for reissuance of curfew passes and exemptions. In that regard, in the intervening period all passes issued are hereby vacated,” he said.